Neostrata Clarifying Gel Cleanser

Happy New Year, everyone! My New Years was low-key and I was happy with that. It makes me feel old but I was just not in a large group house party, club hopping kind of mood. I hope everyone enjoyed their evening and is having a wonderful first day of 2013.

I thought I would start the new year off with my favorite facial cleanser. I’ve mentioned it before and I’ll say it again, I have acne prone skin. I’ve tried everything (short of the Clarisonic, which my bestie just got for Christmas and is loving). I was recommended this product and at the time had been interested in trying the Neostrata brand. I’m glad I did. Since then I haven’t stopped using this cleanser (I even have back ups just in case) and I’ve tried a few of their other products and have been enjoying the brand in general!

4414_clarifying-gel-cleanser

This cleanser uses the beta hydroxy acid – Salicylic Acid (2%) in it. Usually SA doesn’t work for me and actually irritates my skin but in this cleanser I have absolutely no irritation. It has a gel like consistency and foams up fairly nicely. I do recommend removing your make up first with a Micellar and then going in with the gel cleanser to get the best possible results. It will remove your make up though if you skip the micellar step. It takes about 3 weeks for you to actually start to notice a difference but when you do, you’ll notice a more even complexion, your blackheads will just rise out of your face and be gone (which seriously excites me, I know that might be disturbing!) and it works to gently exfoliate your face every day. It retails for about $27 but my bottle has lasted me at least 6 months. You only need a pea sized amount. If you do use this product, I recommend not moisturizing instantly after washing. Wait 5 minutes and let the product really do it’s job and then add on your other products if needed.

Give this cleanser a try if you are acne prone. I do still need to spot treatment once in a while but I’m not complaining. Neostrata is a great brand and this cleanser seriously changed my face.

Neostrata

3 responses

  1. I had high hopes for this product but after only three days, my skin is red, itchy and flaky. I’m freaking out! I’ve heard good things about it so I’m tempted to keep trying. What do you think?

    (I have blackhead prone skin)

Leave a Reply

